Can I Mix Vermiculite or Perlite Into My Scratch Stucco Layer?

Quick question, I’m getting ready to finish with a Ceramic blanket insulation And chicken wire to hold it on, I have heard that you can use Portland cement and perlite for the first two coats. And then after that finish and then with stucco. Is that the best way to go?

Best way to go… or another way to go.

2 or 3 layers of blanket will provide enough heat retention that additional exterior insulation would not be necessary.

That being said… You can do 2 coats of perlite / cement and a coat of stucco… but it might be a lot of work to retain a tiny bit of heat.

My one recommendation for heat retention is to purchase an additional box of blanket and wrap your oven w/ (1) additional layer.

2 Likes

Thanks for the info. I have a couple more questions, I have never done stucco before, I think I can do it, what particular products do you recommend for the Stucco, I am going to at least put three coats and paint at the end. And the next question,

I have seen some people has put a small Vent between them ceramic insulation all the way through the stucco to the outside, is that really necessary does it need to breathe?
I have never built anything like this, first time pouring footers, Laying blocks, bricks,
The interior of my oven is 45 inches cooking surface.

1 Like

Hi Jerry,

“Stucco” is a mystery to lots of us because we imagine houses sided with these beautiful stucco finishes applied by high priests of masonry. :slight_smile: Neither the material nor the process is all that difficult, especially since you’ve been working with concrete and mortar all this time!

You can make stucco yourself using the instructions in this post. Cheap, and just requires a mixing tub and a hoe.