Can the oven be built on top of pavers or do you need a concrete base slab?

Hello,
We’re going to build the Mattone Barile pizza oven on a new paver patio that we’re getting installed within a few weeks. I’m a DIY rookie and need some advice. What is the best foundation option for the base in this situation? I’m very concerned with the aesthetics of the finished product and I want the base to tie into the paver patio cleanly, but ultimately I want it constructed properly so we don’t have problems in the future.

My paver patio contractor suggested that a slab wasn’t necessary, that we could place the base directly on the pavers and that he could beef up the gravel underneath of that area for additional support. We’re also planning to build a 36"W x 30"D counter and then we’ll veneer the whole thing so it appears to be one seamless unit so needless to say it will all be very heavy. We’re in central Florida so we don’t have the freeze-thaw concerns but the soil is very sandy. I am short in stature so we’ll be going with the 4 rows of cinder block rather than 5. Is the additional crushed stone under the patio that the contractor suggested acceptable?

I also looked at the option for installing the cinder blocks two rows below grade. I thought that might be easier for us to do ahead of time. Then we could have the paver contractor come in and paver around it so the pavers are flush against the base and there wouldn’t be unsightly concrete showing. I suppose we could also just pour the slab so the finished height is 2 5/8" below the finished height of the pavers and they could bring the pavers right up to the side of the base.

Lastly, if a concrete slab is necessary, does it really need to be 5-6" larger than the oven base on all sides?

I appreciate any help or advice you can offer. Thank you!

Mandy