Extra thermal mass for arch and door?

First off thanks to moderators and everyone here for the wealth of advice. Novice here so it has been very helpful throughout the build!

I am at the insulating stage of the build on the grande

(Just test fitting chimney in this pic)

A spell of cold weather has put building on hold, space heater in the oven on low, and given me time to read through the forums more as well as Miscovich’s From the Wood Fired Oven (great read!). That has led to two questions:

#1 Should I add some thermal mass to the arch at this stage to help retain heat for bread and tail end cooking? Idea would be to add a cladding of 1/2 thickness fire brick layer onto the outside of the barrel. That would then be covered by the specified insulation/mortar/veneer. Is this insane or would it compromise structural integrity to do so? :slight_smile:

I saw threads on adding double insulation layers for bread baking so will be exploring that as well. Given that I ultimately don’t want veneer brick to overhang counter top, just trying to figure out the best way to use those few inches, more thermal mass or more insulation?

#2 Closing off opening: I am considering using vertically laid fire brick covered by insulation/mortar/veneer brick for partially closing off the door. This would allow me to match veneer brick for the front and sides of the oven and also water proof the front of the oven the same as the rest. Is this reasonable? Overkill? Other ideas?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Hi Andrew, and welcome to the BrickWood forum!

You are most definitely in the right track. Your build looks sound and the chimney will look much more proportional once you insulate and stucco.