Suitable site/Base for MB Grande?

My new ( to me) home has a quasi- outdoor kitchen setup with a (L to R) smoker, bbq grill. Gas burner( for large pots?) And covered void ( currently charcoal and wood storage).

I wish to build a concrete base reinforced with rebar probably 6 or 8 inches thick over the rightmost portion where a practically unremovable piece of a formica product is epoxied down. That portion of the structure is 48" wide x 69 inches deep. It seems about perfect in size for the oven build.

Is there any obvious reason that I’m overlooking that would make this an unwise or difficult place to build? It seems, it must be solid and able to take the weight and other than being a bit low would also save much effort and money.

A bunch of vintage red bricks were also left on the property I’d use for the project perimeter and trim.

Any input would be appreciated. I’m a novice for sure, but generally can fo a decent job at .ost things.

Thanks

Hi Kevin, and welcome to the BrickWood forum!

My only question would be, what is under those bricks? Judging by the overall look of the build, I’d guess it would be concrete block or similar. As long as it’s level, I’d say you got a ready made base there and it may even have been the previous builder’s intention to do that “some day.”

You could easily pick up the BWO directions for building an insulated slab in 3 parts, or search elsewhere on this forum for builds that have been cast in place. You could go either way with that epoxied sheet: if you leave it, and you’re doing the 3 part slab, make sure you use enough mortar to make good contact with the brick and level it up.

If you go the cast route, you might consider making it a couple of inches thicker to bring the height up just a bit. The critical thing with either method is to make sure you include the Perlite/Portland cement insulation in the hearth slab.